The Catalogue of Shipwrecked Books Book â His Son and the uest to Build the World's Greatest Library

Book Õ Christopher Columbus ↠ Join or create book clubs

In the tradition of Stephen Greenblatt’s The Swerve and Dava Sobel’s Galileo’s Daughter a vividly rendered account of the forgotten uest by Christopher Columbus’ son to create the greatest library in the world “a perfectly pitched poetic drama”Financial Times and an amazing tour through 16th century EuropeThe Catalogue of Shipwrecked Books tells the story of the first and greatest visionary of the print age a man who saw how the explosive expansion of knowledge and information generated by the advent of the printing press would entirely change the landscape of thought and society He also happened to be Christopher Columbus’ illegitimate son At the peak of the Age of Exploration while his father sailed across This book is delicious There's no other way to put it It is a delightful romp through Renaissance Europe highlighting Hernando Colon's book buying trips in various places It is a fantasy for any bibliophile to have the freedom and resources to travel and build one's own library at the same time An intellectual feast not to be missed

Text The Catalogue of Shipwrecked Books

The Catalogue of Shipwrecked Books Christopher Columbus His Son and the Quest to Build the World's Greatest LibraryThe ocean to explore the boundaries of the known world Hernando Colón sought to surpass Columbus’ achievements by building a library that would encompass the world and include “all books in all languages and on all subjects” In service of this vision he spent his life travelling first to the New World with his father in 1502 surviving through shipwreck and a bloody mutiny off the coast of Jamaica and later throughout Europe scouring the bookstores of the day at the epicenter of printing  The very model of a Renaissance man Hernando restlessly and obsessively bought thousands and thousands of books amassing a collection based on the modern conviction that a truly great library should include the kind of material dis I just thought it was a difficult read I got about a uarter of the way thru and had to put it down I was falling asleep on the train ride home I may pick it back up again to see if it gets any better

Join or create book clubs ↠ His Son and the Quest to Build the World's Greatest Library Mobi

The Catalogue of Shipwrecked Books Book â His Son and the Quest to Build the World's Greatest Library Ì ➵ [Reading] ➷ The Catalogue of Shipwrecked Books: Christopher Columbus, His Son, and the Quest to Build the World's Greatest Library By Join or create book clubsMissed as ephemeral trash ballads pornography newsletters popular images romances fables Using an invented system of hieroglyphs he meticulously cataloged every item in his library devising the first ever search engine for his rich profusion of books and images and music A major setback in 1522 gave way to the creation of Hernando’s catalog of shipwrecked books and inspired further refinements to his library including a design for the first modern bookshelves  In this illuminating and brilliantly researched biography Edward Wilson Lee tells an enthralling story of the life and times of the first genius of the print age a tale with striking lessons for our own modern experiences of information revolution and globalizatio Bought it with great expectationsnot sure it deliveredEarly chapters dealing with Columbus senior were very enjoyable with information and insights new for me but I found that the middle portion of the book lost its way somewhat in heavy detailed descriptions of diverse royal families alliegiances and treatiesAs for the catalogue or library itself and it's compilation the odd illustrative graphic interspersed with some pictures of books mentioned might have rewarded and aided this slightly jaded and bewildered reader