FREE DOC Î READER Things in Jars È EYLTRANSFERSERVICES

Join or create book clubs À Things in Jars: A Novel READER

FREE DOC Î READER Things in Jars È EYLTRANSFERSERVICES Í ❴BOOKS❵ ⚦ Things in Jars: A Novel Author Join or create book clubs – Eyltransferservices.co.uk A January Book of the Month Pick Miraculous and thrillingA few pages in and I was determined to read every word Jess Kidd has ever written DA January Book of the Month Pick Miraculous and thrillingA few pages in and I was determined to read every word Jess Kidd has ever written Diane Setterfield #1 New York Times bestselling author of Once Upon a River An impossible wonder a book for everyone and yet somehow a book just for youA sumptuous tour of Victorian London resurrected here with a vigor and vibrancy to rival The Crimson Petal and the WhiteUtterly magicalAJ Finn #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Woman in the Window A perfect mix of hilarity the macabre and a touch of romance Things in Jars is ridiculously entertaining all as it sneaks up and makes you feel thingsSimply Jess Kidd is so good it isnt fair Erika Swyler bestselling author of The Book of Speculation and Light from Other Stars In the dark underbelly of Victorian London a formidable female sleuth is pulled into the macabre world of fanatical anatomists and crooked surgeons while investigating the kidnapping of an extraordinary child in this gothic mysteryperfect for fans of The Essex Serpent and The Book of SpeculationBridie Devinefemale detective extraordinaireis confronted with the most baffling puzzle yet the kidnapping of Christabel Berwick secret daughter of Sir Edmund Athelstan Berwick and a peculiar child whose reputed supernatural powers have captured the unwanted attention of collectors trading curiosities in this age of discovery Winding her way through the labyrinthine sooty streets of Victorian London Bridie wont rest until she finds the young girl even if it means unearthing a past that shed rather keep buried Luckily her search is aided by an enchanting cast of characters including a seven foot tall housemaid; a melancholic tattoo covered ghost; and an avuncular apothecary But secrets abound in this foggy underworld where spectacle is king and nothing is uite what it seems Blending darkness and light history and folklore Things in Jars is a spellbinding Gothic mystery that collapses the boundary between fact and fairy tale to stunning effect and explores what it means to be human in inhumane times Loved this story Jess Kidd gets better and better Wonderful uirky characters A little history a little magic a little romance A fairy tale mystery Great read

PDF ó À Join or create book clubs

A January Book of the Month Pick Miraculous and thrillingA few pages in and I was determined to read every word Jess Kidd has ever written Diane Setterfield #1 New York Times bestselling author of Once Upon a River An impossible wonder a book for everyone and yet somehow a book just for youA sumptuous tour of Victorian London resurrected here with a vigor and vibrancy to rival The Crimson Petal and the WhiteUtterly magicalAJ Finn #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Woman in the Window A perfect mix of hilarity the macabre and a touch of romance Things in Jars is ridiculously entertaining all as it sneaks up and makes you feel thingsSimply Jess Kidd is so good it isnt fair Erika Swyler bestselling author of The Book of Speculation and Light from Other Stars In the dark underbelly of Victorian London a formidable female sleuth is pulled into the macabre world of fanatical anatomists and crooked surgeons while investigating the kidnapping of an extraordinary child in this gothic mysteryperfect for fans of The Essex Serpent and The Book of SpeculationBridie Devinefemale detective extraordinaireis confronted with the most baffling puzzle yet the kidnapping of Christabel Berwick secret daughter of Sir Edmund Athelstan Berwick and a peculiar child whose reputed supernatural powers have captured the unwanted attention of collectors trading curiosities in this age of discovery Winding her way through the labyrinthine sooty streets of Victorian London Bridie wont rest until she finds the young girl even if it means unearthing a past that shed rather keep buried Luckily her search is aided by an enchanting cast of characters including a seven foot tall housemaid; a melancholic tattoo covered ghost; and an avuncular apothecary But secrets abound in this foggy underworld where spectacle is king and nothing is uite what it seems Blending darkness and light history and folklore Things in Jars is a spellbinding Gothic mystery that collapses the boundary between fact and fairy tale to stunning effect and explores what it means to be human in inhumane times Brief summary and review no spoilersI can’t remember the last time I’ve been so challenged in reviewing a book This book is so clever and uniue it’s hard to describe and discuss it without giving away spoilers Saying that here’s a uick spoiler free summaryThe book starts out in England in September of 1863 where we soon meet our main protagonist the ever so likeable Bridie Devine Bridie is a young woman who had a rough and tumble upbringing Bridie is street smart honorable medically trained and by the way the wearer of an exceptionally ugly bonnet Because of her smarts Bridie is often called upon by Scotland Yard to assist in their investigationsBridie becomes involved in the investigation of a dead woman and child found in an underground crypt which leads to a further investigation of a missing little girl named Christabel BerwickAt this time I should probably mention that Christabel is not an ordinary little girl but perhaps something mythical and possibly very dangerous Because of this collectors and operators of circuses are interested in her and let’s just say Bridie’s investigations take her to a lot of interesting places and we become acuainted with a lot of strange and mysterious villains and foesBridie is aided most times by her 7 foot tall housemaid Cora and a handsome ghost named Ruby Doyle; both fantastic characters The story goes back in forth in time between 1863 and 1843 and by the time we turn the last page all secrets are revealedI absolutely loved this book I’ve always liked books that take us back and forth in time and this one does it especially wellTo say the book is whimsical fantastical and uirky is putting it lightly but also know it’s extremely well written The prose and the descriptions are so spot on and masterful; in your mind’s eye you can see the persons and scenes described and you can even smell the odors often bad surrounding youThis book is truly genre bending It absolutely transported me back to London during that time period and and I learned what life was like back then The book is also a mystery of sorts set in a somewhat fantastical world I am not usually a fan of this type of book but it works beautifully here And did I mention it’s laugh at loud funny at times? And a twist at the end to bootI cannot emphasize how wondrous the prose is and let me tell you she can WRITE; what a talent It’s been a while since I’ve read something this good Just a brief passage out of so many“Bridie threatened Bennys nephew with the law When that didn’t work she threatened him with a pistol In an act of glorious defiance Bridie picked the lock of the bear cage liberated Cora and then the pair of them walked out of the circus in broad daylight Benny’s nephew had no doubt from the look on Bridie’s face that she would shoot anyone who tried to stop them Thereafter Cora appointed herself Bridie’s housemaid and Bridie hasn’t had a decent meal since”Highly recommended I’ve dog eared so many wonderful passages that this book just might fly if I send it airborne It’s that good

READER Things in Jars

Things in Jars A NovelA January Book of the Month Pick Miraculous and thrillingA few pages in and I was determined to read every word Jess Kidd has ever written Diane Setterfield #1 New York Times bestselling author of Once Upon a River An impossible wonder a book for everyone and yet somehow a book just for youA sumptuous tour of Victorian London resurrected here with a vigor and vibrancy to rival The Crimson Petal and the WhiteUtterly magicalAJ Finn #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Woman in the Window A perfect mix of hilarity the macabre and a touch of romance Things in Jars is ridiculously entertaining all as it sneaks up and makes you feel thingsSimply Jess Kidd is so good it isnt fair Erika Swyler bestselling author of The Book of Speculation and Light from Other Stars In the dark underbelly of Victorian London a formidable female sleuth is pulled into the macabre world of fanatical anatomists and crooked surgeons while investigating the kidnapping of an extraordinary child in this gothic mysteryperfect for fans of The Essex Serpent and The Book of SpeculationBridie Devinefemale detective extraordinaireis confronted with the most baffling puzzle yet the kidnapping of Christabel Berwick secret daughter of Sir Edmund Athelstan Berwick and a peculiar child whose reputed supernatural powers have captured the unwanted attention of collectors trading curiosities in this age of discovery Winding her way through the labyrinthine sooty streets of Victorian London Bridie wont rest until she finds the young girl even if it means unearthing a past that shed rather keep buried Luckily her search is aided by an enchanting cast of characters including a seven foot tall housemaid; a melancholic tattoo covered ghost; and an avuncular apothecary But secrets abound in this foggy underworld where spectacle is king and nothing is uite what it seems Blending darkness and light history and folklore Things in Jars is a spellbinding Gothic mystery that collapses the boundary between fact and fairy tale to stunning effect and explores what it means to be human in inhumane times I’ve read Jess Kidd’s other two books and love her uirky cross genre style This book has a different feel to her others but I think it’s her best yet The characters were vivid and Dickensian the Victorian era was perfectly captured with its blend of science and medicine folklore and superstition The genre as always with Kidd’s novels is hard to pinpoint; it’s a historical novel but also a crime novel and a supernatural novel although it’s left to the reader to determine how much they want to believe the elements of folklore is Ruby really there as a ghost or is he a hallucination brought on by whatever Bridie smokes constantly? Is Christabel really a merrow or just an unusual unloved child? I also liked the way that the mystery cleverly intersected with Bridie’s own past and own enemies I loved Bridie's dry humour and the way she plays with conventions of gender and identity especially with all her disguisesI did feel that the characterisation in the book was stronger than the plot though Often characters were introduced in a vivid entertaining and humorous way but only to play some small role in the plot and were then never seen again A lot of the chapters started with descriptions of London which while they were well written and evoked the gloomy atmosphere also slowed down the pace somewhat It also felt like the ending was a little rushed especially the parting of Bridie and RubyOn the whole though I loved the style of the novel and would like to see another instalment of Bridie’s adventures as a detective